Skip to content
Tags

First Post

July 30, 2013

I have been going to start a blog for a really long time. Well, when I say that , I have been talking about it and thinking about it for some time – and lurking around the internet reading many other educators reflections on their blogs and have never really got started. I’m not sure if I ever really intended to.

A few things have happened over the last month that have really challenged me to get on with it! I need to connect. I have been keeping my head down and really working hard to do my job as Principal of a Catholic Full Primary School, Christchurch, New Zealand, really well. Trying to keep up with best and current practice and thinking that I just don’t have the time to fit anything else in.

A month ago in an appraisal meeting – the person facilitating my appraisal said to me that I should start sharing some of my ideas online. I’m going to be honest and say my response initially was I’m not sure I have anything worth sharing, and that of when would I have time to do this but I would think about it.

That night I read a post on a blog that really challenged me and made me sit up and take stock of where to from here. I couldn’t believe what I was reading after being challenged during the day to then be reading this blog that night. It was as if it was a conspiracy.

The post was entitled “The Prophets in Your Land”  posted by George Couros http://georgecouros.ca/blog/archives/3945

Never again will I say I don’t think I have anything of value to share!! There is also a link to a video clip about underestimating your value! Thank you George Couros, this post was what I needed and just at the right time. I have been reading your blog for a long time but this was the post that spurred me on. Love the question that you ask you ask new teaching candidates too!

Over the next couple of weeks after reading this I read more and more blogs – the references to PLN’s,  Twitter,  and getting connected felt as they were all directed at me.

My next step was to join twitter @JoEarl2 – didn’t think I would ever do that, didn’t understand the value, within a week I was a total convert. I cannot believe the connections, I cannot believe the wealth of information I now have access to, I cannot believe just how willing everyone is to share their wisdom.

So this is my first post. I am also very new to Twitter and am looking to connect. Please follow.

Before all of this I didn’t think I had time for all this – now I think I haven’t got time not to…

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Congratulations Jo!!! Thank you for sharing and I am glad that you have seen the value of your own voice! It is imperative that we share and push our own thinking; I am sure that you will convince others to do the same!

  2. Welcome to Twitter and the world of blogging! The power comes in the sharing. I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts and learning from you.

  3. I totally understand where you are coming from. I have also just discovered the power of Twitter and have created my first blog. It’s great to hear someone else think, “What do I have to offer?” and then realize that there are so many thoughts and conversations that we need to share and may not take the time to do in our daily jobs. I see this new endeavor as a chance to relfect on my day and to challenge myself to keep learning. What a great way to do it!

  4. Steve Pietrolungo permalink

    Thank you for sharing George’s “Prophets in Your Land”! I think I’m ready to dive in (don’t too sure if its going to be head first, o a toe at a time) and start modeling the use of blogs for my staff!

  5. Great post! I look forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

